Absolute Jeanius

YARN … FIBER … ART

Homemade Laundry Soap March 10, 2011

Filed under: how to,learning,life — jeanius80 @ 1:26 pm

I’ve noticed lately that my psoriasis seems to be more irritated lately. I suspect it is the laundry soap we use. (It’s usually the cheapest, Sun?) After a few forum chats about being greener, saving money, being more self-sufficient and making instead of buying…laundry detergent came up a few times. Enough times that I thought it would be worth the effort to try it out.

 

A few people would post recipes or links to such (like this, I used recipe 1), and they are  all usually variants on the same.

 

What you’ll need:

a bar of soap 4-5 ounces (make sure it is labeled as SOAP). I used a bar of Dr. Bronners Peppermint soap:

A box of Borax. I used 20 Mule Team Borax:

Be aware, that they are changing the look, but not product. The new boxes are mostly white, with light green and the name is slightly less prominent.

You’ll also need washing soda. NOT the same as baking soda! I used Arm & Hammer:

 

I didn’t have a bucket, so I went to my local hardware store, and picked up a 5 gallon bucket, and lid. I also bought a 1 gallon water jug, to make measuring easier.

In a pot, you need to heat to boiling, 1 quart (4 cups) of water. While it is heating, grate you bar of soap. This step makes it easier to melt the soap in the water.  Once you are done grating the soap,. add it in thirds, stirring and making sure each addition has disolved. After the last of the soap has been added , turn off the heat, and let the soap water finish combing.

In your bucket, add 2 cups of the Borax, and 2 cups of the washing soda. Mix them and then add the hot soap water. Stir this and get the powders dissolved as best you can. Add a gallon of hot water, stir and then add a 2nd gallon of water.

 

That’s it! Let it cool before you use it, and it only takes about 1/4 cup per load of laundry. The best part is that you can customize each batch using a soap you like, or that suits your skin (fragranced or not!). You can even add essential oils once the mixture has cooled, 10-15 drops per 2 gallons.

 

I am planning making a batch using Pears soap.. It’s so easy to make, that I am almost disappointed that I have to wait to make another batch!

 

 

Leave a Reply

