Absolute Jeanius

YARN … FIBER … ART

SOCKS August 22, 2009

Filed under: design,knitting,learning,socks — jeanius80 @ 9:55 am

I finally took the plunge and got over my silly ‘fear’ of short row heels. See, I am the type of knitter who doesn’t like to rip/tink. SO if I make a mistake, I will fix it or leave it, so I was scared of screwing up a sock heel, since I would have to rip back to redo it. (whoa, that’s a crappy run-on sentence).

I finished a pair of traveling ribbed socks with Dream In Color Classy, in the color Some Summer Sky. No photos, as my camera is MIA. The socks were too tight for my feet, so I knit the foot short enough for Makenna to wear as house socks. I might re-visit the pattern (it was one I made up), and eventually write it up to share. The left overs might be enough for Cable Footies or may just end up as a hat for Makenna.

I am also in the planning stages of another pair of worsted socks; they will be knit with a cable panel/gusset up the back, and be (hopefully) knee high. Sort of a bastardization of kilt hose. I won’t be able to really offer the pattern, as the cable chart is not my own. I will however, share the how-to, though you’ll need the book with the chart in order to actually knit the socks.
Up next, I will be finishing my moms bee strip socks (Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in Bee Stripe), then knitting Jasons plain grey socks. His will be toe up, with 1×1 ribbing on the arch, a few random stripes using left over Seahawks sock yarn, and then 2×2 ribbing on the leg/cuff. He originally asked for short socks, and now decides he wants them as tall as I can get from two balls of Fortissima (100 grams for his size 10.5-11 feet).

Eventually I’ll get to some socks for me πŸ˜‰ Probably the Embossed Leaves using some Koigu KPM in a nice dark green semi-solid. Or Monkeys using some other KPPM I have stashed.

For those of you who like sales.. Jimmy Beans Wool has Colinette Jitterbug on sale (I scored two of the Salty Dog colorway) Pretty colors!) for just $12.30 for 100 gram skein. Those will probably become Reims Stockings πŸ™‚

(Pattern links are ravelry.com pattern page links)

 

3 Responses to “SOCKS”

  1. luneray Says:

    Sweetie, I’m happy to help you with the socks. You already know all the techniques, but if you want to hang out and absorb some sock-knittin’ vibe, let me know. πŸ™‚

    You could probably make thigh-high socks for Jason with 200g of sock yarn. Wouldn’t he look cute wearing those? πŸ˜›

  2. jeanius80 Says:

    LOL Just imagining him in thigh highs is hilarious! He does have nice legs.. though hairy. And I imagine he would run for the hills πŸ˜‰ They probably be mid-calf

  3. Rachael Says:

    Yay, welcome to the darkside….you’ll either never stop knitting socks or this will be your only pair…hopefully we will have you completely addicted. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

